Main Menu

Explore More

West Hartford

Prevention Council

The West Hartford Prevention Council (establish by ordinance October 7, 2019) is dedicated to increasing public awareness of, and action around, substance abuse and mental health issues. The Council facilitates activities and/or makes recommendations regarding possible activities to the Town Council that may increase public awareness of substance abuse and prevention initiatives or that promote mental health in the context of overall health and wellness. The nine-member panel, non-voting members and ex-officio members meet once per month, except in July and August, on the second Thursday of the month at 5:00 PM in West Hartford Town Hall. Please contact the Social Services Office for more information at 860-561-7560.

View the West Hartford Cares Directory Resource for a comprehensive list of contact information for those services.  The West Hartford Resource Directory lists telephone numbers for services that you'll need in time of crisis, including the Poison Control hotline, local hospitals as well as agencies that have professionals who can help with child abuse, domestic violence, gambling, parenting, substance abuse and more. A wallet-size card of this resource directory is available at the Customer Service Desk of Town Hall.

WH Cares Resource Directory
First page of the PDF file: WHCares

Meeting Dates



Archived Meeting Minutes

Board Members

Kathleen Bond

School Counselor

Howard Dashefsky

Vice Chair

Jessica Evans

School Counselor

Bob Macca

Board Member

Nordia Napier

Board Member

Megan Polte

Board Member

Carl Shields


Vacancies - There are 2 Vacant Positions


Shari Cantor, Mayor
Rick Ledwith, Town Manager
Dr. Lorna Thomas-Farquharson, BOE Representative
Paul Vicinus Jr., Superintendent 
Tor Fiske, Assistant Principal, Conard High School
Nicholas Sanford, Police Department Representative
Joseph Hopkins, Police Department Representative
Gretchen Levitz, Prevention Coordinator
Kelly Waterhouse, Social Services Representative
Susan Walsh, WHBHD Representative
Megan Jo, Student Representative (Conard H.S.)
Madeline Valentin, Student Representative (Hall H.S.)