Main Menu

Explore More

West Hartford

Wolcott Park History

Wolcott Park has been a West Hartford landmark since the early 1800’s. Originally owned by Chester Francis, it changed hands a number of times until it was purchased by Henry A. Wolcott and his wife Annie around 1907. The Wolcott family ran the Wolcott Farm, as it was known then, until the land was sold to the Town in the mid-1950s. Wolcott Elementary School was completed in 1957. The construction of the park began in the summer of 1972, designed by the architecture firm of Johnson & Dee. The 28-acre park opened the following year.

Over the years, the park has received several improvements. In the late 1990’s, the Town’s Leisure Services department collaborated with the Wolcott Elementary School community to create the Wolcott Children’s Forest. This section of the park includes a mulched, quarter-mile path, and an outdoor classroom, which includes a butterfly garden, educational garden, and fruit trees. Another series of park renovations began in 2019, with construction completed in 2025. The tennis courts were replaced with new tennis and pickleball courts, and basketball courts were renovated. In partnership with West Hartford Youth baseball, lights were added to the baseball field. A new restroom was built in 2024, and the parking lot nearest it was replaced the year after.

Other noteworthy features of the park include a full sized soccer field, a playground and splash pad, Wolcott pond, a raised forest boardwalk, and a community garden.