Main Menu

Explore More

West Hartford

Senior Centers

West Hartford's two senior centers offer a variety of recreational activities, social services and preventative health services to the town's senior citizens. There are hundreds of activities for seniors to choose from including classes in the arts, wellness and personal development and sports and fitness. Throughout the year, there are lectures and presentations as well as numerous special events and trips.


Both senior centers also coordinate with social services and various community organizations to offer assistance programs to seniors with special needs or concerns. The senior centers publish bi-monthly bulletins that contain information of interest to seniors as well as a complete schedule of programs and activities.

Non-residents are welcome to participate in West Hartford senior center activities and become a member. To become a member you must be age 55 or older and pay $15 per calendar year for West Hartford residents and $40 per calendar year for non-West Hartford residents, which entitles you to participation at both the Elmwood and Bishops Corner Senior Center. We welcome people of any age to participate in our programs without membership. 

Click on the individual images below to explore each facility! 

Elmwood Community Center

Elmwood Community Center

West Hartford Senior Center

West Hartford Senior Center

Bulletin Cover page

The Bulletin includes an exciting variety of in-person, hybrid and virtual programs.  We distribute programming information through weekly email blasts to anyone that requests it.  If you would like to receive weekly emails on opportunities or have additional questions, please call 860-561-7583 and leave a message and a staff member will return your call within 24 hours. You may also email whsc@westhartfordct.gov

Events Calendar

November 2022
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Oct 30
Mon, Oct 31
Weekly Walk
Tue, Nov 1
Wed, Nov 2
Thu, Nov 3
Blood Pressure, Glucose & Pulsox Reading
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Thursday Dance
Fri, Nov 4
Fall Bingo
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Sat, Nov 5
Sun, Nov 6
Mon, Nov 7
Weekly Walk
Tue, Nov 8
Genealogy Club
Elmwood Senior Center
Wed, Nov 9
Wisdom Road Adventures
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Prospective and New Member Orientation
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Fall Bingo
Elmwood Senior Center
Thu, Nov 10
Thursday Dance
Fri, Nov 11
Sat, Nov 12
Sun, Nov 13
Mon, Nov 14
Weekly Walk
Tue, Nov 15
Wed, Nov 16
Thu, Nov 17
Blood Pressure, Glucose & Pulsox Reading
Elmwood Senior Center
Thursday Dance
Fri, Nov 18
Fall Bingo
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Sat, Nov 19
Sun, Nov 20
Mon, Nov 21
Weekly Walk
Tue, Nov 22
Genealogy Club
Elmwood Senior Center
Wed, Nov 23
Prospective and New Member Orientation
Elmwood Senior Center
Thu, Nov 24
Fri, Nov 25
Sat, Nov 26
Sun, Nov 27
Mon, Nov 28
Weekly Walk
Tue, Nov 29
Wed, Nov 30
Thu, Dec 1
Blood Pressure, Glucose & Pulsox Reading
-
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Thursday Dance
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Fri, Dec 2
Bingo
Sat, Dec 3

News & Announcements

100 Mayflower St. map

All members of our community have the ability to co-create the vision for our Town and help shape decisions – we invite you to be a part of the process! Come to one of our upcoming meetings.

Office Hours

Elmwood:  Monday-Friday, 9AM to 4:30 PM
Bishops Corner: Monday- Friday,  9AM to 4:30 PM

Contact Information

Elmwood Senior Center
1106 New Britain Ave, 2nd Floor

West Hartford, CT 06110
WHSC@WestHartfordCT.gov

860-561-8180
Fax: 860-561-8187

Bishops Senior Center
15 Starkel Rd
West Hartford, CT 06117
WHSC@WestHartfordCT.gov

860-561-7583
Fax: 860-561-7506

There are many opportunities to help serve our community and one of the many ways is to be a volunteer at the senior centers. In fact, it is our volunteers that help make them very successful! Please consider being a VOLUNTEER.