Main Menu

Explore More

West Hartford

Senior Centers

West Hartford's two senior centers offer a variety of recreational activities, social services and preventative health services to the town's senior citizens. There are hundreds of activities for seniors to choose from including classes in the arts, wellness and personal development and sports and fitness. Throughout the year, there are lectures and presentations as well as numerous special events and trips.


Both senior centers also coordinate with social services and various community organizations to offer assistance programs to seniors with special needs or concerns. The senior centers publish bi-monthly bulletins that contain information of interest to seniors as well as a complete schedule of programs and activities.

Non-residents are welcome to participate in West Hartford senior center activities and become a member. To become a member you must be age 55 or older and pay $15 per calendar year for West Hartford residents and $40 per calendar year for non-West Hartford residents, which entitles you to participation at both the Elmwood and Bishops Corner Senior Center. We welcome all adults to participate in our programs without membership. 

Click on the individual images below to explore each facility! 

Elmwood Community Center

Elmwood Community Center

West Hartford Senior Center

Bishops Corner Senior Center

Summer Bulletin Cover

The Bulletin includes an exciting variety of in-person, hybrid and virtual programs.  We distribute programming information through weekly email blasts to anyone that requests it.  If you would like to receive weekly emails on opportunities or have additional questions, please call 860-561-7583 and leave a message and a staff member will return your call within 24 hours. You may also email whsc@westhartfordct.gov

EVENTS CALENDAR

May 2024
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Fresh Start Breakfast: Planning for the Next Chapter
-
Elmwood Senior Center
Wed, May 1
Spring Tea Party
-
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5
Mon, May 6
Tue, May 7
Cinco de Mayo celebration
-
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Wed, May 8
Super Spring Salads & Mediterranean Diet
-
Elmwood Senior Center
Thu, May 9
Bird Walk
-
Elmwood Senior Center
Fri, May 10
Yoga: Journey to Spiritual Awakening
-
Bishops Corner Senior Center
Sat, May 11
Sun, May 12
Mon, May 13
Tue, May 14
Wed, May 15
Senior Day and Health Fair
-
Elmwood Senior Center
Thu, May 16
Fri, May 17
Sat, May 18
Sun, May 19
Mon, May 20
Tue, May 21
Wed, May 22
Thu, May 23
Fri, May 24
Sat, May 25
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1

Office Hours

Elmwood:  Monday-Friday, 9AM to 4:30 PM
Bishops Corner: Monday- Friday,  9AM to 4:30 PM

Contact Information

Elmwood Senior Center
1106 New Britain Ave, 2nd Floor

West Hartford, CT 06110
WHSC@WestHartfordCT.gov

860-561-8180
Fax: 860-561-8187

Bishops Senior Center
15 Starkel Rd
West Hartford, CT 06117
WHSC@WestHartfordCT.gov

860-561-7583
Fax: 860-561-7506

There are many opportunities to help serve our community and one of the many ways is to be a volunteer at the senior centers. In fact, it is our volunteers that help make them very successful! Please consider being a VOLUNTEER.